Member for Eastern Victoria Region, Harriet Shing MP has congratulated Gippsland winners recognised in the 2015 Victorian Landcare Awards.

The 2015 Awards ceremony were hosted by Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AM, Governor of Victoria at Government House yesterday.

The Andrews Labor Government supports the Landcare Awards because they celebrate community-minded Victorians who undertake significant works to improve the sustainability of their local environment.

Some outstanding projects from the winning Gippsland entries include: pedal-to-plate bike tours of Landcare sites in South Gippsland; the establishment of a robotic dairy in West Gippsland; and the protection of 700 hectares of saltmarsh on freehold land between Port Albert and Reeves Beach near RAMSAR listed Wetlands.

The 2015 Victorian Landcare Awards ceremony featured a new award in honour of the late Honourable Joan Kirner AC for her ground breaking role in establishing the Landcare movement.

The Labor Government is committed to strengthening and building Landcare to ensure it continues to deliver real, on the ground results and meets Victoria’s current and future environmental needs.

Quotes attributable to Harriet Shing, Member for Eastern Victoria Region:

“The Victorian Landcare Awards are held every two years to celebrate the achievements of people who care for our environment. It’s a welcome opportunity for us to celebrate their contribution and say thank you.”

“These awards help raise environmental awareness across Victoria by shining a spotlight on the hard work and leadership of community-minded volunteers. It is very pleasing to see so many Gippslanders feature on the winners list”

“Next year Victoria will celebrate 30 years of Landcare. It is great to have outstanding category winners from Gippsland, representing Victoria in the 2016 National Landcare Awards“.

2015 Victorian Landcare Award Winners from Gippsland include:

– Manpower Young Landcare Leader – Kate Williams
– Australian Government Individual Landcarer – David McAninly
– Coastcare Award – Yarram Yarram Landcare Network
– Australian Government Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices – Trevor & Anne-Marie Mills

DEDJTR Regional Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices Award
– West Gippsland – Graeme and Gillian McNicoll
– East Gippsland – Far East Sustainable Agriculture Group
– Port Phillip and Westernport – Trevor and Anne-Marie Mills

The full list of the 2015 Victorian Landcare Awards winners