Monday, 24 April 2017

Nominations are now open for awards celebrating the dedicated individuals and teams who work to improve the lives of Victoria’s most vulnerable children.

The Victorian Protecting Children Awards (formerly Robin Clark Protecting Children Awards) recognise the valuable contribution of individuals, organisations and the broader community who play their part to achieve the protection and wellbeing of children and young people, and their families.

The Andrews Labor Government encourages nominations from foster and kinship carers, academics, policy, program, supervisory and direct service staff from community, government or academic organisations.

The award categories are:

• Robin Clark Leadership Award
• Robin Clark Making a Difference Award
• Education Initiative Award
• Minister’s Award for Innovative Care
• Carer Award
• Excellence in Child Protection Award (DHHS staff)
• Chief Practitioner’s Award (DHHS staff)
• CREATE Award
• Modelling a Generous Community Award
• Walda Blow Award

Nominations close on Monday 15 May, 2017 and winners will be announced at the Victorian Protecting Children Awards ceremony on Tuesday 12 September as part of Foster Care Week in Victoria.

For further information or to nominate visit

The NAPCAN Play Your Part Award (Victoria) will also be awarded at the Victorian Protecting Children Awards ceremony. Information about this award can be found at the NAPCAN website

Quotes attributable to Member for Eastern Victoria Region, Harriet Shing:

“The Andrews Labor Government is reforming our child protection system to keep children safe – our dedicated workforce in Gippsland deserve to be recognised for the crucial work that they do.”

“Every child and young person has a right to grow up feeling safe and loved. This is about celebrating the many people in Gippsland who help promote, protect, prevent and reduce harm to children and young people.”

“If you know someone delivering much needed services to vulnerable children and young people in Gippsland, or shows an exceptional commitment to their job, please nominate them so that their work can be recognised.”