Member for Eastern Victoria Region, Harriet Shing MP today announced that 37 Gippsland Schools had successfully received funding under a new grants program that will measure and strengthen student resilience.

Harriet Shing MP said the approach will include the use of a specialist survey and is based on compelling international research and evidence linking strong resilience to improved academic outcomes.

Based on the findings of each survey, schools will be supported in the development of evidence-based approaches to help build student resilience and wellbeing.

Tailored professional learning opportunities will also be available to teaching staff.

Schools were selected for funding based on their capacity to deliver a whole-of-school approach to student and staff wellbeing, the level of need among their student population and their ability to support ongoing and sustainable improvements beyond the life of the grant program.

Support will be provided to schools to help measure the effectiveness of their strategies and interventions in a year’s time.

Harriet Shing MP today congratulated the following Gippsland schools on taking the initiative to help build more inclusive and supportive learning environments: Bass Valley Primary School, Bundalaguah Primary School, Cowes Primary School, Fish Creek and District Primary School, Foster Primary School, Inverloch Primary School, Kongwak Primary School, Korumburra Primary School, Leongatha Primary School, Loch Primary School, Longwarry Primary School, Mirboo North Primary School, Newborough East Primary, Newhaven Primary School, Nyora Primary School, Pakenham Lakeside Primary School, Poowong Consolidated School, Powlett River Primary School, San Remo Primary School, Tarwin Lower Primary School, Tooradin Primary School, Trafalgar Primary School, Welshpool and District Primary School, Wonthaggi North Primary School, Wonthaggi Primary School, Korumburra Secondary College, Kurnai College, Lakes Entrance Secondary College, Leongatha Secondary College, Maffra Secondary College, Mirboo North Secondary College, Officer Secondary College, South Gippsland Secondary College, Tarwin Valley Primary School, Wonthaggi Secondary College, Bass Coast Specialist School and South Gippsland Specialist School.

A complete list of successful schools can be found at:

Quotes attributable to Member for Eastern Victoria Region, Harriet Shing MP:

“There is extensive research proving that higher resilience leads to better educational and social outcomes so targeted, grass-roots projects such as these are vital for helping our students achieve their best at school.”

“This initiative will help schools across Gippsland identify specific issues within their student populations and provide teachers with tailored professional learning opportunities to help address them.”

“Building Resilience in School Communities grants will help schools boost students’ optimism, confidence, and social and emotional skills and create safer, more supportive school communities.”