Member for Eastern Victoria, Harriet Shing, joined students and staff at Tobruk Street Primary School in Morwell to kickstart the school’s first Breakfast Club.

Tobruk Street Primary School is one of 500 Victorian schools selected for the new $13.7 million Breakfast Club program in 2016, which will feed 25,000 students across 500 Victorian government schools – 81 from Gippsland. A total of 22 schools will offer Breakfast Clubs in Term 1, with further clubs to serve the most important meal of the day in other schools from Terms 2 and 3 of this year.

The Andrews Labor Government is committed to taking our education system from good to great by building the Education State, starting with an almost $4 billion investment in education and skills in the 2015-16 State Budget.

The coming year will see the delivery of a raft of key Education State reforms designed to lift student outcomes across the board so that no Victorian child is left behind, including a $566 million boost to equity funding over four years.

In 2016, Tobruk Street Primary School will receive $235,875, an increase in equity funding of $110,178 compared to 2015. This is part of an additional $158 million in equity funding being delivered to Victorian schools in 2016 alone.

All preps starting at a Victorian government school this year will also be given a specially-designed Crumpler library bag, made to be practical, strong and weather-proof so it can accompany them right through their primary school years.

Quotes attributable to Member for Eastern Victoria, Harriet Shing

“The Andrews Labor Government has gotten on with the job of building the Education State and helping students in classrooms across Gippsland to all get the chance at a great education.”

“I commend staff for their commitment to their students. Without this commitment by school staff, Breakfast Clubs could not operate.  Tobruk Street Primary School is just one of the many great examples of how Victorian children are being supported to reach their full potential.”

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education James Merlino

“The Andrews Labor Government’s Education State reforms mean parents whose kids are back at school this week can rest assured in the knowledge we are building a world-class education system.”

“There is plenty of hard work ahead but 2016 will see us continue to deliver key Education State reforms so that every child, in every classroom, in every community has the chance at a great education.

Following is the list of Breakfast clubs starting in Term 1

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREA                                SCHOOL
Bass                                                                            Bass Coast Specialist School
Gippsland East                                                          Lindenow Primary School
Gippsland East                                                          Bairnsdale West Primary School
Gippsland East                                                          Orbost North Primary School
Gippsland East                                                          East Gippsland Specialist School
Gippsland East                                                          Lakes Entrance Primary School
Gippsland East                                                          Nowa Nowa Primary School
Gippsland East                                                          Cann River P-12 College
Gippsland East                                                          Goongerah Tubbut P-8 College
Gippsland South                                                       Wurruk Primary School
Gippsland South                                                       Seaspray Primary School
Gippsland South                                                       Loch Sport Primary School
Morwell                                                                      Morwell Park Primary School
Morwell                                                                      Traralgon (Liddiard Road) Primary School
Morwell                                                                      Tobruk Street Primary School – Morwell
Morwell                                                                      Churchill Primary School
Morwell                                                                      Commercial Road Primary School – Morwell
Morwell                                                                      Churchill North Primary School
Narracan                                                                    Moe Primary School
Narracan                                                                    Baringa Special School
Narracan                                                                    Warragul & District Specialist School
Narracan                                                                    Ripplebrook Primary School